The Horse & Jockey





A bit about our history...


In 1824 the pub was known as "The Hanging Gate" probably in reference to the toll gate on the Bentley Road. We're one of the only Horse and Jockey pubs in the country that are named for a real horse and a real jockey. In 1952 Sir William Dugdale rode his horse Cloncarrig in the Grand National prompting the name change.


There is an extensive beer garden (a real sun-trap) where customers can enjoy a pint of real ale while the children explore the garden. The pub boasts a beautiful 18th century barn conversion restaurant with original beams and exposed brickwork. 


H&J Template